Fear and anger in Virginia

We get angry about things that scare us.

It’s much easier to demonize something or someone than it is to deal with it.  We may even consider acting on that anger to castigate or cast out that which scares us as “dealing with it.”  It’s not, and it won’t make it go away.  It only causes harm; to others, if they represent something that frightens us, and to ourselves.  It can cause collateral harm as well.

I’ve tried, in my life, to actually face things instead of getting angry at them.  I’ve been failing lately, and it’s harming someone who means more to me than life.  Time to set a better example.  Even if no one else does, I will; someone has to.

 

“I will.  Someone has to.”  That seems to be one of my purposes in life.  I didn’t ask for it, but things left stagnant, well, they stink.  You can stir things up (which generally just causes more stink) or you can get to the root cause, drain the pool, and figure out how to keep it from happening again.  But getting angry isn’t going to fix anything.

Leave a Reply

